Last Chance To Recognise Regional Stars Of Deaf Communication

2012 Signature Annual Awards

People wishing to honour those leading the way in deaf communication have less than three weeks before the search for the country’s most inspirational teachers and learners draws to a close.

Organisers of the 2012 Signature Annual Awards are urging those who have a friend, relative or colleague making a real difference to the lives of the deaf community to complete their nomination before the awards’ regional categories close on Wednesday, 2nd May 2012.

Submissions for the regional Learner of the Year and regional Teacher of the Year awards must be made via before the May deadline.

Hosted by leading awarding body Signature, the annual awards aim to recognise individuals and organisations that have made an outstanding contribution to improving communications and access for deaf and deafblind people.

Jim Edwards, Chief Executive of Signature, said: “Since the launch of the 2012 Signature Annual Awards earlier this year we have already received some outstanding examples of how individuals up and down the country are making a significant contribution toward achieving a society in which deaf and deafblind people have full access.

“However I’m certain there will be many more inspirational stories still to come, but time is running out. I’d urge anyone who knows a teacher or a learner who has made a real impact in their local community to step up and shout about their life-changing efforts before the deadline on 2nd May.”

The 2012 Signature Annual Awards will also mark Signature’s 30th anniversary. Originally formed in 1982 as an academic research project at Durham University, Signature is now the UK’s leading provider of accredited qualifications in sign language and other forms of deaf and deafblind communication.

The awards’ regional shortlists will be announced on 16th May 2012, with the regional winners unveiled on 13th June. Each regional winner will then progress to the national final later this year when the UK’s Teacher of the Year and Learner of the Year will be chosen.

Nominations for the awards’ remaining categories, including Community Spirit, Young Learner of the Year and Organisational Achievement, must be submitted by Wednesday, 27th June 2012.

Share this article: