Information on Framework Levels

The Qualifications Regulator in 2010 allocated new levels to NVQ qualifications on the QCF, which recognises these qualifications more precisely and compares them directly to qualifications offered by universities. The framework has eight qualification levels (above Entry Level), compared with the 5 levels used for NVQs until now.

  • Levels 1, 2 and 3 stay the same.
  • Level 4 is split into three levels: Levels 4, 5 and 6.
  • Level 5 was split into two levels: Levels 7 and 8.

Our Level 4 NVQ in BSL/ISL, and Level 4 NVQ in Interpreting (BSL/English) have been assessed as equivalent to an honours degree. That means that although the content of the qualifications stays the same they have been allocated to Level 6 of the revised framework.

The new qualifications titles are:

Learners who achieve Signature Level 3 NVQ Certificate in BSL/ISL can progress directly to the next level as they have always done. The next step is Level 6 NVQ Certificate in BSL/ISL. It is the same as the step from A-Levels to Degree.

Signature Level 6 NVQ Certificate in BSL has been accredited to the QCF (Qualification Reference 500/9581/X).

Share this article: